Just one of many stories

This weekend I ventured down to Prattville, AL with Christen and my mom, in search of a place to live… considering the fact that we are moving down in less than two weeks.

While we were there we took the chance to explore downtown Montgomery. We walked up and down Dexter Ave to see the capitol building and stopped in front of the Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church.

Letting it sink in where we were and reading the information on the plaque in front of the church, we were surprised when the doors of the Church opened up and a lady walked out to welcome us in.

She said, How are you guys? I’m getting ready to start a tour if you want to come in. It only takes 45 minutes. I looked around at mom and Christen and could see that they wanted to, just as much as I did, but I knew we had an apartment tour back in Prattville in about 30 minutes.

I reluctantly told her, We would LOVE to; but, we have to head back to Prattville for an apartment tour. 

You could tell she was excited.

You’re moving here? She asked.

I responded, Yep! My wife and I will be moving down on the 17th. 

Well, what brings you down to Alabama? She asked.

I said I got a job at a Church down here. 

She looked me right in the eyes and asked, Music pastor?

At this point, I was freaking out… In a good way. In a Spirit-filled kind of way.

Yea! That’s exactly what it is. I responded.

I don’t remember her response from this point, but I do remember her being overly excited to hear that news. She leaned in to give me a hug. She then hugged Christen and my mom.

We talked a little bit longer about where the Church was and where we were moving from; but, before we left she said one more thing to us.

Once you get down here, come and tour all the sites. We have a lot of Civil Rights and Civil War memorials and they go together perfectly. Just like YOU (pointing at all three of us) and I go together perfectly. 

This was just one of the many stories that put the icing on the cake for us this past weekend. Stories that laid seeds that I hope grow into experiences I can share with you here. I can undoubtedly say that the assurance God was giving us couldn’t be any clearer.

We are going to miss our family and friends here in Murray.

We are going to miss our Church.

We are going to miss our small group.

I’m gonna miss my band.

But, we know that Gods plans are greater than ours and He has so much for us to do in this huge story of Grace.

So we will confidently take the next step forward.


Subscribe to my newsletter here.

2 thoughts on “Just one of many stories

Leave a comment